About Us

The Student Government Association was founded at the College of Charleston in 1922, after students felt the need for a representative body to the administration of the College. 

The Executive Branch consists of Council and Board. The Council consists of our President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, Chief of Staff, and Deputy Chief of Staff. The Board consists of the Executive Council, the Initiative Directors, President Pro Tempore, Parliamentarian, and others as determined by each year's administration. The Executive Council meets on Tuesdays before Senate. The Executive Board meets Thursdays at 3:30 p.m.

The Legislative branch is the Senate. The Senate holds nine voting positions for every class at the College. The SGA Vice President presides over the Senate and operates under Robert's Rules of Order as well as the College of Charleston Student Government Association Special Rules.

The purpose of the Senate is to propose and debate bills and resolutions pertaining to Student Life at the College. It is the job of the Senate to allocate funds to over 230 student organizations, provide educational events, and be a mediator between the administration and the students of the College. The Student Senate meets every Tuesday at 5:00 p.m. in the Stern Center Ballroom.